Facebook bids,
budgets & optimization
Markus Ojala
PhD, Chief Data Scientist
Two basic strategies
1. Bid constrained
● KPI limit
● Maximize delivery
2. Budget constrained
● Fixed budget
● Maximize
performance
You bid $30 for a purchase.
Does John see your ad?
Conversion optimized bidding
It’s simple. You can bid directly for your end goal.
Bid value for the
desired outcome
Estimated
action rate
Relevance &
quality
X +Bid =
Maximizes
advertiser
value
Optimizes
consumer
experience
Examples of final bids
● Your purchase bid is $30
● The average conversion rate is 0.2%
a. For John, FB predicts higher conversion rate of
0.5% thus final bid = $30 * 0.005 = $0.15
b. For Kate, FB predicts lower conversion rate of
0.1% thus final bid = $30 * 0.001 = $0.003
+ Ad quality score effect
● Your final bids are different!
How much do I pay?
● Facebook uses Vickrey–Clarke–Groves (VCG) auction
○ Charges each individual the harm they cause to other bidders
○ Your cost is close to the second highest bid (VCG is a generalization)
○ You pay always less than your bid -> profit
Optimal strategy for each
bidder is to bid their true value
● True value = full life-time profit you get for a conversion
○ Excluding the Facebook marketing cost
Simplified example
Advertiser B
● Purchase bid $100
● Estimated action rate 0.1%
Final bid = $0.10
Advertiser A
● Purchase bid $30
● Estimated action rate 0.5%
Final bid = $0.15
● Advertiser A wins and pays $0.10
● This would give them 33% expected profit margin
● Per impression $0.05 or per purchase $10 profit in
average
Bid your true value
Estimating true value
● Average lifetime profit per conversion excluding Facebook marketing cost
● FB attribution: one day click-through
○ if 70% of conversions come in 1d click, scale bid by 1 / 0.7 = 1.43
○ Also longer 7d conversion window is now possible
● Your true value is usually higher than you think due to, e.g.,
○ Viral effect, word-of-mouth
○ Repeated purchases
○ Forgetting view-through conversions
Maximum vs average bid
Average bid
If you care more about maximizing
delivery and conversion volume
within an average cost threshold,
you should probably use average
cost bidding.
Maximum bid (in prev slides)
If you care more about every
result you're optimizing for
costing no more than a given
amount, you should probably use
maximum cost bidding.
Bid constrained
Bid examples
Average bid
● Your average lifetime profit
for a conversion is $50
● You want to make 50% profit
in average (CMO says)
Avg bid = $50 * 0.5 = $25
● Some conversions may cost
more than $50
● Average CPA is close to $25
● You maximize the delivery
Maximum bid
● Your average lifetime profit
for a conversion is $50
Max bid = $50
● You’ll end up paying $0 - $50
for a conversion making each
of them profitable
● Average CPA is less than $50
● You maximize the profit
Bid constrained
Optimizing bid goal
“Get about 30 conversions per day for oCPM to work better”
Optimize for conversion events that occur
at least 15-25 times per ad set per week.
● Example funnel: link clicks -> view content -> add to cart -> purchase
○ Based on our tests, even 5 conversions can be enough
● When changing goals, estimate new bid amount
○ For example, $50 purchase bid
○ About 10% of add to carts lead to purchase
○ Bid add-to-cart with $50 * 10% = $5
Pacing on Facebook explained
Pacing maximizes
advertiser's profit for a
given budget.
● Get the cheapest
conversions
throughout the day
● Affects only when
budget is a limiting
factor. Accelerated
delivery disables
pacing for good.
https://www.smartly.io/blog/bid-optimization-pacing-on-facebook-explained
Budget constrained
Due to pacing,
budget optimization
is also
bid optimization
How to manage budgets?
● Allocate budget between campaigns to minimize the total CPA
○ Move budget from high CPA ad sets or campaigns to low ones
○ No Facebook tools to do this directly
○ We use multi-armed bandit methods for statistically optimal allocation
● Also scale total budget if CPA is good and vice-versa
How to optimize bids & budgets?
No need for manual bid optimization!
Facebook does it for you.
1. Bid your true value with maximum bidding
a. Improve your true value estimation
2. Or, bid your CPA goal with average bidding
a. Be bold, don’t judge performance based on a few conversions
3. Allocate budget between campaigns and ad sets based on
performance
Audiences
● Should I split my audiences?
○ Only if they have different LTV per conversion
○ Not due to different conversion rates as FB incorporates that
○ FB has a lot of data to estimate the conversion rates -> no need
to split
● Increase audience sizes
○ Try to limit your reach below 10% of the audience size to utilize
the conversion optimized bidding
○ If you reach all, there’s nothing to optimize
○ Use bigger lookalike audiences or on purpose reach full LAL 1%
● Rule of thumb: budget is at least 20 x bid
○ Otherwise combine audiences
A/B testing with ad studies
● Best practices
○ Test one thing
○ Get at least 100 conversions
○ Both A and B campaign start from scratch (clone original)
○ Use same posts, unless comparing creatives
● Rule of thumb: Any difference less than 2 x sqrt(conversions)
is not statistically significant
○ At least 6% difference to detect with 1000 conversions (±63)
○ At least 20% difference to detect with 100 conversions (±20)
○ At least 37% difference to detect with 30 conversions (±11)
Data science at Smartly.io
Automate
the best practices
in FB marketing
Example Smartly.io features
Thank you.
Markus.Ojala@smartly.io

More Related Content

PDF
How Facebook Bidding Works
PDF
Bayesian Revenue Estimation with Stan
PDF
Budget Allocation in Online Marketing
PDF
Data Science in Online Marketing
PDF
Data science in online marketing briefly
PDF
Running Stan in Production: Bayesian Revenue Estimation
PPTX
Incrementality
PPTX
5 Pillars of PPC
How Facebook Bidding Works
Bayesian Revenue Estimation with Stan
Budget Allocation in Online Marketing
Data Science in Online Marketing
Data science in online marketing briefly
Running Stan in Production: Bayesian Revenue Estimation
Incrementality
5 Pillars of PPC

What's hot (20)

PPTX
CPA Bidding Can be Even More Effective for You
PPS
Testing Strategies
PPTX
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
PPTX
Tom Lewis – CFO, IPA
PPTX
Dan Golden's Internet Summit 2015 Presentation - Practical Attribution
 
PPTX
The Private Life of Mail at Advertising Week Europe - A critique by Les Binet...
PPTX
Automated Data Mining for Everyone
PPTX
Don't be eaten by the enhanced campaign wave... Ride it!
PDF
Optimising Adwords for Success
PDF
The 6 Metrics Every Subscription Business Needs to Track
PDF
Confused @ oi15
PPTX
Increase Sales & Profit Without Spending More On Advertising
PPT
Goals and Goal Funnels | Presented by Justin Spencer of Analytics Pros
PDF
How to Win at Paid Search
PPTX
Acing the A/B Test: How to Optimize to Send Extraordinary Emails
PDF
ARM yourself with Exponea - 7 tips for growth
PDF
Big Data LDN 2017: Advanced Analytics Applied to Marketing Attribution
PDF
High-Frequency Bidding Explained
PPTX
AI and Machine Language in PPC
PDF
Translating Lift into Dollar Value & Tracking Revenue in Optimizely
CPA Bidding Can be Even More Effective for You
Testing Strategies
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
Tom Lewis – CFO, IPA
Dan Golden's Internet Summit 2015 Presentation - Practical Attribution
 
The Private Life of Mail at Advertising Week Europe - A critique by Les Binet...
Automated Data Mining for Everyone
Don't be eaten by the enhanced campaign wave... Ride it!
Optimising Adwords for Success
The 6 Metrics Every Subscription Business Needs to Track
Confused @ oi15
Increase Sales & Profit Without Spending More On Advertising
Goals and Goal Funnels | Presented by Justin Spencer of Analytics Pros
How to Win at Paid Search
Acing the A/B Test: How to Optimize to Send Extraordinary Emails
ARM yourself with Exponea - 7 tips for growth
Big Data LDN 2017: Advanced Analytics Applied to Marketing Attribution
High-Frequency Bidding Explained
AI and Machine Language in PPC
Translating Lift into Dollar Value & Tracking Revenue in Optimizely
Ad

Similar to Facebook bids, budgets & optimization (20)

PPTX
Hero Conf London 2016 - The Definitive Framework for Bidding in AdWords
PPTX
How Much Should I Spend? Answering the Eternal Question for Your SEM Campaigns
PPTX
Enhanced Cost- Per- Click
PDF
DMIEXPO - Igal Pines - The Intelligent Media Buyer: How can you turn $1 to $2...
PDF
Measuring & Optimising Your Google Ads Performance
PPTX
Session 5 Google AdWords
PPTX
facebook and Meta ads Strategy video- Step By Step
PPTX
PPC Week 3 Part 1
DOC
Google adwords bidding process
PPTX
Google Search Conversion Optimizer
PDF
Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]
PDF
How to Price Your Agency Services
PDF
Budgets, Bids and Winning New Business in 2019: How to Allocate Ad Spend Like...
PDF
Mastering Google Adwords, Facebook Ads, and Instagram Ads
PDF
Budgets, Bids and Winning New Business in 2019: How to Allocate Ad Spend Like...
PPTX
2 Facebook advertising
PDF
OMG Frokostseminar 08.06.17
PPTX
PPC advertising explained jan 2013
PDF
Automation for Marketers Who Don’t Want to Give Up Control
PPTX
Get 30% more conversions within the same PPC budget
Hero Conf London 2016 - The Definitive Framework for Bidding in AdWords
How Much Should I Spend? Answering the Eternal Question for Your SEM Campaigns
Enhanced Cost- Per- Click
DMIEXPO - Igal Pines - The Intelligent Media Buyer: How can you turn $1 to $2...
Measuring & Optimising Your Google Ads Performance
Session 5 Google AdWords
facebook and Meta ads Strategy video- Step By Step
PPC Week 3 Part 1
Google adwords bidding process
Google Search Conversion Optimizer
Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]
How to Price Your Agency Services
Budgets, Bids and Winning New Business in 2019: How to Allocate Ad Spend Like...
Mastering Google Adwords, Facebook Ads, and Instagram Ads
Budgets, Bids and Winning New Business in 2019: How to Allocate Ad Spend Like...
2 Facebook advertising
OMG Frokostseminar 08.06.17
PPC advertising explained jan 2013
Automation for Marketers Who Don’t Want to Give Up Control
Get 30% more conversions within the same PPC budget
Ad

Recently uploaded (20)

PPTX
You_Exec_-_Root_Cause_Analysis_Toolbox_Light_Free (1).pptx
PPTX
Best Mobile App Development Company in Lucknow
PPTX
Unit 2 - Architects Act, COA n competitions.pptx
PPTX
AI Search Demystified: Future‑Proof Your Brand For AI‑Driven Queries
PPTX
CH 2 The Role of IMC in the Marketing Process (combined)
PPTX
Best Web Development Company in Lucknow.pptx
PDF
sm_67a1bc7f35716dcb1a9195ea_382528b8-2159-47be-a7ba-d034a449f849.pdf
PPT
Market Segmentation and Positioning(3).ppt
PDF
Top-Rated Marketplaces to Buy Verified Cash App Accounts Safely.pdf
PDF
digital marketing courses online with od
PDF
Biography of Brady Beitlich
PDF
Social Media Marketing in 2025 blog 1 2.pdf
PPTX
CH 1 AN INTRODUCTION OF INTEGRATED MARKETING COMMUNICATION (COMBINE)
PDF
Freelance digital marketing in 2025:Your path to freedom and growth
PPTX
Best LLM SEO Tools for B2B Brands in 2025
PDF
EX Kathmandu _Kailash Mansarovar Yatra 2025 by Nagarjuna Travels.pdf
PDF
Deloitte contemporary marketing-trends-2025.pdf
PDF
What's New in Digital Q3 25 Webinar 2025
PPTX
Best Social Media Marketing Company in Lucknow
PDF
DigiBrandX: Crafting Identities That Resonate
You_Exec_-_Root_Cause_Analysis_Toolbox_Light_Free (1).pptx
Best Mobile App Development Company in Lucknow
Unit 2 - Architects Act, COA n competitions.pptx
AI Search Demystified: Future‑Proof Your Brand For AI‑Driven Queries
CH 2 The Role of IMC in the Marketing Process (combined)
Best Web Development Company in Lucknow.pptx
sm_67a1bc7f35716dcb1a9195ea_382528b8-2159-47be-a7ba-d034a449f849.pdf
Market Segmentation and Positioning(3).ppt
Top-Rated Marketplaces to Buy Verified Cash App Accounts Safely.pdf
digital marketing courses online with od
Biography of Brady Beitlich
Social Media Marketing in 2025 blog 1 2.pdf
CH 1 AN INTRODUCTION OF INTEGRATED MARKETING COMMUNICATION (COMBINE)
Freelance digital marketing in 2025:Your path to freedom and growth
Best LLM SEO Tools for B2B Brands in 2025
EX Kathmandu _Kailash Mansarovar Yatra 2025 by Nagarjuna Travels.pdf
Deloitte contemporary marketing-trends-2025.pdf
What's New in Digital Q3 25 Webinar 2025
Best Social Media Marketing Company in Lucknow
DigiBrandX: Crafting Identities That Resonate

Facebook bids, budgets & optimization

  • 1. Facebook bids, budgets & optimization Markus Ojala PhD, Chief Data Scientist
  • 2. Two basic strategies 1. Bid constrained ● KPI limit ● Maximize delivery 2. Budget constrained ● Fixed budget ● Maximize performance
  • 3. You bid $30 for a purchase. Does John see your ad?
  • 4. Conversion optimized bidding It’s simple. You can bid directly for your end goal. Bid value for the desired outcome Estimated action rate Relevance & quality X +Bid = Maximizes advertiser value Optimizes consumer experience
  • 5. Examples of final bids ● Your purchase bid is $30 ● The average conversion rate is 0.2% a. For John, FB predicts higher conversion rate of 0.5% thus final bid = $30 * 0.005 = $0.15 b. For Kate, FB predicts lower conversion rate of 0.1% thus final bid = $30 * 0.001 = $0.003 + Ad quality score effect ● Your final bids are different!
  • 6. How much do I pay? ● Facebook uses Vickrey–Clarke–Groves (VCG) auction ○ Charges each individual the harm they cause to other bidders ○ Your cost is close to the second highest bid (VCG is a generalization) ○ You pay always less than your bid -> profit Optimal strategy for each bidder is to bid their true value ● True value = full life-time profit you get for a conversion ○ Excluding the Facebook marketing cost
  • 7. Simplified example Advertiser B ● Purchase bid $100 ● Estimated action rate 0.1% Final bid = $0.10 Advertiser A ● Purchase bid $30 ● Estimated action rate 0.5% Final bid = $0.15 ● Advertiser A wins and pays $0.10 ● This would give them 33% expected profit margin ● Per impression $0.05 or per purchase $10 profit in average
  • 9. Estimating true value ● Average lifetime profit per conversion excluding Facebook marketing cost ● FB attribution: one day click-through ○ if 70% of conversions come in 1d click, scale bid by 1 / 0.7 = 1.43 ○ Also longer 7d conversion window is now possible ● Your true value is usually higher than you think due to, e.g., ○ Viral effect, word-of-mouth ○ Repeated purchases ○ Forgetting view-through conversions
  • 10. Maximum vs average bid Average bid If you care more about maximizing delivery and conversion volume within an average cost threshold, you should probably use average cost bidding. Maximum bid (in prev slides) If you care more about every result you're optimizing for costing no more than a given amount, you should probably use maximum cost bidding. Bid constrained
  • 11. Bid examples Average bid ● Your average lifetime profit for a conversion is $50 ● You want to make 50% profit in average (CMO says) Avg bid = $50 * 0.5 = $25 ● Some conversions may cost more than $50 ● Average CPA is close to $25 ● You maximize the delivery Maximum bid ● Your average lifetime profit for a conversion is $50 Max bid = $50 ● You’ll end up paying $0 - $50 for a conversion making each of them profitable ● Average CPA is less than $50 ● You maximize the profit Bid constrained
  • 12. Optimizing bid goal “Get about 30 conversions per day for oCPM to work better” Optimize for conversion events that occur at least 15-25 times per ad set per week. ● Example funnel: link clicks -> view content -> add to cart -> purchase ○ Based on our tests, even 5 conversions can be enough ● When changing goals, estimate new bid amount ○ For example, $50 purchase bid ○ About 10% of add to carts lead to purchase ○ Bid add-to-cart with $50 * 10% = $5
  • 13. Pacing on Facebook explained Pacing maximizes advertiser's profit for a given budget. ● Get the cheapest conversions throughout the day ● Affects only when budget is a limiting factor. Accelerated delivery disables pacing for good. https://www.smartly.io/blog/bid-optimization-pacing-on-facebook-explained Budget constrained
  • 14. Due to pacing, budget optimization is also bid optimization
  • 15. How to manage budgets? ● Allocate budget between campaigns to minimize the total CPA ○ Move budget from high CPA ad sets or campaigns to low ones ○ No Facebook tools to do this directly ○ We use multi-armed bandit methods for statistically optimal allocation ● Also scale total budget if CPA is good and vice-versa
  • 16. How to optimize bids & budgets? No need for manual bid optimization! Facebook does it for you. 1. Bid your true value with maximum bidding a. Improve your true value estimation 2. Or, bid your CPA goal with average bidding a. Be bold, don’t judge performance based on a few conversions 3. Allocate budget between campaigns and ad sets based on performance
  • 17. Audiences ● Should I split my audiences? ○ Only if they have different LTV per conversion ○ Not due to different conversion rates as FB incorporates that ○ FB has a lot of data to estimate the conversion rates -> no need to split ● Increase audience sizes ○ Try to limit your reach below 10% of the audience size to utilize the conversion optimized bidding ○ If you reach all, there’s nothing to optimize ○ Use bigger lookalike audiences or on purpose reach full LAL 1% ● Rule of thumb: budget is at least 20 x bid ○ Otherwise combine audiences
  • 18. A/B testing with ad studies ● Best practices ○ Test one thing ○ Get at least 100 conversions ○ Both A and B campaign start from scratch (clone original) ○ Use same posts, unless comparing creatives ● Rule of thumb: Any difference less than 2 x sqrt(conversions) is not statistically significant ○ At least 6% difference to detect with 1000 conversions (±63) ○ At least 20% difference to detect with 100 conversions (±20) ○ At least 37% difference to detect with 30 conversions (±11)
  • 19. Data science at Smartly.io Automate the best practices in FB marketing