SlideShare a Scribd company logo
How to Recover from the 
Holidays Faster Than Your 
Competition 
#thinkppc 
Conversion Matters: 
HOSTED BY: 
Getting Started With CRO
#thinkppc 
Presenters 
• Sam Owen 
– Associate Director of Paid Search, CRO at 
Hanapin Marketing 
– Blogger on PPC Hero 
– @SamOwenPPC 
Roopa Carpenter 
– Account Manager, CRO at Hanapin Marketing 
– Hero Conf Conversion Summit Speaker 
– @RoopaCarpenter
#thinkppc 
Join the conversation 
• Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your Twitter tweets. 
• Or use the webinar question box to send us questions.
#thinkppc 
Live Poll Question #1 
How long have you been in PPC? 
#thinkppc 
A. Less than 1 year 
B. 1-3 years 
C. 3-5 years 
D. 5+ years
#thinkppc 
Live Poll Question #2 
How do you manage your account(s)? 
#thinkppc 
a) I manage it myself. 
b) I’m part of a team that manages it. 
c) I outsource my account management. 
d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
#thinkppc 
CRO – What is it? 
Conversion Rate Optimization 
• A structured approach to improving the 
performance of your site 
• Defined by your sites key performance 
indicators (ex. purchase, download 
newsletters) 
• Utilizing analytics and user feedback to 
make informed decisions
#thinkppc 
CRO – What is it NOT? 
Conversion Rate Optimization is NOT: 
• Trying things based on 
guess or a hunch. 
• Getting the most clicks 
regardless of quality
Goal CPA = Max CPC for that Conv. 
#thinkppc 
Why do CRO? I’m a PPC person! 
1 Conv. = # of Clicks Per Conv. 
Conv. Rate 
# of Click Per Conv. 
Example: 
If your conversions rate is 2.5%, Goal CPA is $20, then 
your Max CPC is $0.50 
If your conversion rate is 5%, Goal CPA is $20, then 
your Max CPC is $1.00
#thinkppc 
What Makes A Good Landing Page? 
Value Proposition 
Urgency 
Anxiety 
Confusion
AKA: Tell me what you do, why I 
should care right now, why I should 
believe you and what I’m going to 
get out of it… 
#thinkppc 
What Makes A Good Landing Page? 
Value Proposition 
Urgency 
Anxiety 
Confusion
#thinkppc 
6 Principles of Influence 
1. Reciprocity 
2. Commitment (& 
Consistency) 
3. Social Proof 
4. Liking 
5. Authority 
6. Scarcity
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO 
The biggest mistake in PPC is bad landing page 
alignment…
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO 
A great PPC experience should be really easy: 
1. Type in my search term 
2. See an ad about that term 
3. Get to a landing page about my search term 
Simple…
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO 
NOT A SAMSUNG TV IN SIGHT!
#thinkppc 
Aligning PPC & CRO 
Search Term Ad Copy Landing Page
#thinkppc 
ATTENTION!
Remove All Distractions 
#thinkppc
#thinkppc 
ATTENTION!
#thinkppc 
ATTENTION! 
Help Me Find You
#thinkppc 
Give Me What I Need To Know 
http://conversionsciences.com/
#thinkppc 
Give Me What I Need To Know 
That’s a long old page
#thinkppc 
Give Me What I Need To Know
#thinkppc 
Give Me What I Need To Know 
Don’t tease me Flo, we both 
know what I want!
#thinkppc 
Give Me What I Need To Know
#thinkppc 
SWOT Analysis
#thinkppc 
Google Analytics 
• Are customers doing lots of research? 
• How many are bouncing instantly? 
• What are our demographics? 
• Where are users arriving from? 
• What percentage are new vs. returning? 
• Which pages are most popular?
#thinkppc 
GA Funnels 
Where Are We 
Losing Customers?
#thinkppc 
Heat & Scroll Maps 
Is your call to 
action in a place 
where 100% of 
people will see it?
#thinkppc 
Customer Feedback 
The best way to find out what your landing page is 
missing is to ask your customers
#thinkppc 
Customer Feedback 
Step 1: Learn common objections / problems 
Step 2: Answer them early on your landing page (boo 
anxiety!) 
Step 3: Profit!
#thinkppc 
Come Up With Hypotheses
Okay, I Want to Test… But Where do I Start? 
#thinkppc
Many Tools Available for CRO Testing 
There are many tools out there for CRO testing. The key 
is to find one(s) that work for you: 
1. Google Analytics 
#thinkppc 
• Utilize In-Page Analytics to identify where users are spending 
time on particular pages of your website.
LP Tests Within Analytics 
Run Landing Page Tests within Analytics: 
• This is an option if you want to test sending users to a different url from the one 
#thinkppc 
currently used (ex. category page vs. home page, short form vs. long form) 
• Set up is easy: Reporting tab  Behavior  Experiment  Create Experiment 
• Ensure Analytics code is on the new url you are testing.
Many Tools Available for CRO Testing 
#thinkppc 
2. CrazyEgg 
• Assists in creating a well thought out experiment 
• Provides insight on user behavior (allows you to segment)
Optimizely: A/B Testing for Landing Pages 
3. Optimizely: 
• Great for A/B Testing 
• Depending on the plan you choose, you can do multipage testing and multivariate 
#thinkppc 
testing 
• This is a good option, when your site does not require a complete redo
#thinkppc 
Unbounce: When LP’s Need More Work 
4. Unbounce: 
• Great for LP testing beyond minor changes 
• You can start from scratch or use one of their landing page templates
#thinkppc 
Wireframes 
5. Creating Wireframes for Client 
• If you’re working for a client that is able to implement the 
changes you want without using Optimizely, then you may want 
to create a wireframe 
• Check out the following resources: 
• Wix.com 
• Balsamiq.com 
• Mockflow.com
#thinkppc 
So What Should I Start Testing?
What You Test is Specific to Your Account 
General Features to Test for Lead Generation 
• Form (getting rid of unnecessary fields) or changing 
#thinkppc 
it from two columns into one 
• Color/Size of the button 
• CTA of the button (align with user expectations) 
• Location of the form and CTA (is it above the fold) 
• Headlines (be specific and align with user 
expectations) 
• Images (be wary of people) 
• Use of arrows
What You Test is Specific to Your Account 
General Features to Test for Ecommerce 
• Layout of products on product results page 
• Highlighting products on sale (ex. save $10.00 vs. save) 
• Add trustmarkers to the checkout process 
• Remove ability to navigate away during the checkout 
#thinkppc 
process 
• Have “add to cart” button for each product on product 
results page 
• Highlight “free shipping” (if applicable) 
• Create urgency to complete order (ex. order in the 
next 3 hr 2 min to have your product shipped today)
What Works for One Account May Not 
#thinkppc 
Work Across the Board 
Example: Remove button navigating away from 
application page. 
Result: 7.7% increase in conversion rate
#thinkppc 
Measuring Results 
• It’s specific to your KPIs 
• Leads: Form filled, 
downloaded an ebook, live 
chat, called a phone number 
• Ecommerce: Transactions, 
Revenue
#thinkppc 
When to Call a Test 
• Tests are generally not conclusive if you only have a few 
conversions 
• General rule of thumb is 25 conversions each 
• After a test has enough conversions, we analyze 
conversions rates to see if there is a significant 
improvement and if so, we declare the test page as the 
winner.
#thinkppc 
Special Offer! 
Would you like a discount to Hero Conf Conversion Summit? 
o Yes! 
o No Thanks
#thinkppc 
Live Q&A Time!
#thinkppc 
Have more questions? 
Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc 
• Get a FREE Account Analysis from Hanapin Marketing 
(for accounts greater than $20K/mo in adspend): 
http://www.hanapinmarketing.com/account-analysis/ 
• Or Contact us Directly: 
• Webinar Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com

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Conversion Matters: Getting Started With CRO

  • 1. How to Recover from the Holidays Faster Than Your Competition #thinkppc Conversion Matters: HOSTED BY: Getting Started With CRO
  • 2. #thinkppc Presenters • Sam Owen – Associate Director of Paid Search, CRO at Hanapin Marketing – Blogger on PPC Hero – @SamOwenPPC Roopa Carpenter – Account Manager, CRO at Hanapin Marketing – Hero Conf Conversion Summit Speaker – @RoopaCarpenter
  • 3. #thinkppc Join the conversation • Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your Twitter tweets. • Or use the webinar question box to send us questions.
  • 4. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #1 How long have you been in PPC? #thinkppc A. Less than 1 year B. 1-3 years C. 3-5 years D. 5+ years
  • 5. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #2 How do you manage your account(s)? #thinkppc a) I manage it myself. b) I’m part of a team that manages it. c) I outsource my account management. d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
  • 6. #thinkppc CRO – What is it? Conversion Rate Optimization • A structured approach to improving the performance of your site • Defined by your sites key performance indicators (ex. purchase, download newsletters) • Utilizing analytics and user feedback to make informed decisions
  • 7. #thinkppc CRO – What is it NOT? Conversion Rate Optimization is NOT: • Trying things based on guess or a hunch. • Getting the most clicks regardless of quality
  • 8. Goal CPA = Max CPC for that Conv. #thinkppc Why do CRO? I’m a PPC person! 1 Conv. = # of Clicks Per Conv. Conv. Rate # of Click Per Conv. Example: If your conversions rate is 2.5%, Goal CPA is $20, then your Max CPC is $0.50 If your conversion rate is 5%, Goal CPA is $20, then your Max CPC is $1.00
  • 9. #thinkppc What Makes A Good Landing Page? Value Proposition Urgency Anxiety Confusion
  • 10. AKA: Tell me what you do, why I should care right now, why I should believe you and what I’m going to get out of it… #thinkppc What Makes A Good Landing Page? Value Proposition Urgency Anxiety Confusion
  • 11. #thinkppc 6 Principles of Influence 1. Reciprocity 2. Commitment (& Consistency) 3. Social Proof 4. Liking 5. Authority 6. Scarcity
  • 12. #thinkppc Aligning PPC & CRO The biggest mistake in PPC is bad landing page alignment…
  • 13. #thinkppc Aligning PPC & CRO A great PPC experience should be really easy: 1. Type in my search term 2. See an ad about that term 3. Get to a landing page about my search term Simple…
  • 16. #thinkppc Aligning PPC & CRO NOT A SAMSUNG TV IN SIGHT!
  • 17. #thinkppc Aligning PPC & CRO Search Term Ad Copy Landing Page
  • 22. #thinkppc Give Me What I Need To Know http://conversionsciences.com/
  • 23. #thinkppc Give Me What I Need To Know That’s a long old page
  • 24. #thinkppc Give Me What I Need To Know
  • 25. #thinkppc Give Me What I Need To Know Don’t tease me Flo, we both know what I want!
  • 26. #thinkppc Give Me What I Need To Know
  • 28. #thinkppc Google Analytics • Are customers doing lots of research? • How many are bouncing instantly? • What are our demographics? • Where are users arriving from? • What percentage are new vs. returning? • Which pages are most popular?
  • 29. #thinkppc GA Funnels Where Are We Losing Customers?
  • 30. #thinkppc Heat & Scroll Maps Is your call to action in a place where 100% of people will see it?
  • 31. #thinkppc Customer Feedback The best way to find out what your landing page is missing is to ask your customers
  • 32. #thinkppc Customer Feedback Step 1: Learn common objections / problems Step 2: Answer them early on your landing page (boo anxiety!) Step 3: Profit!
  • 33. #thinkppc Come Up With Hypotheses
  • 34. Okay, I Want to Test… But Where do I Start? #thinkppc
  • 35. Many Tools Available for CRO Testing There are many tools out there for CRO testing. The key is to find one(s) that work for you: 1. Google Analytics #thinkppc • Utilize In-Page Analytics to identify where users are spending time on particular pages of your website.
  • 36. LP Tests Within Analytics Run Landing Page Tests within Analytics: • This is an option if you want to test sending users to a different url from the one #thinkppc currently used (ex. category page vs. home page, short form vs. long form) • Set up is easy: Reporting tab  Behavior  Experiment  Create Experiment • Ensure Analytics code is on the new url you are testing.
  • 37. Many Tools Available for CRO Testing #thinkppc 2. CrazyEgg • Assists in creating a well thought out experiment • Provides insight on user behavior (allows you to segment)
  • 38. Optimizely: A/B Testing for Landing Pages 3. Optimizely: • Great for A/B Testing • Depending on the plan you choose, you can do multipage testing and multivariate #thinkppc testing • This is a good option, when your site does not require a complete redo
  • 39. #thinkppc Unbounce: When LP’s Need More Work 4. Unbounce: • Great for LP testing beyond minor changes • You can start from scratch or use one of their landing page templates
  • 40. #thinkppc Wireframes 5. Creating Wireframes for Client • If you’re working for a client that is able to implement the changes you want without using Optimizely, then you may want to create a wireframe • Check out the following resources: • Wix.com • Balsamiq.com • Mockflow.com
  • 41. #thinkppc So What Should I Start Testing?
  • 42. What You Test is Specific to Your Account General Features to Test for Lead Generation • Form (getting rid of unnecessary fields) or changing #thinkppc it from two columns into one • Color/Size of the button • CTA of the button (align with user expectations) • Location of the form and CTA (is it above the fold) • Headlines (be specific and align with user expectations) • Images (be wary of people) • Use of arrows
  • 43. What You Test is Specific to Your Account General Features to Test for Ecommerce • Layout of products on product results page • Highlighting products on sale (ex. save $10.00 vs. save) • Add trustmarkers to the checkout process • Remove ability to navigate away during the checkout #thinkppc process • Have “add to cart” button for each product on product results page • Highlight “free shipping” (if applicable) • Create urgency to complete order (ex. order in the next 3 hr 2 min to have your product shipped today)
  • 44. What Works for One Account May Not #thinkppc Work Across the Board Example: Remove button navigating away from application page. Result: 7.7% increase in conversion rate
  • 45. #thinkppc Measuring Results • It’s specific to your KPIs • Leads: Form filled, downloaded an ebook, live chat, called a phone number • Ecommerce: Transactions, Revenue
  • 46. #thinkppc When to Call a Test • Tests are generally not conclusive if you only have a few conversions • General rule of thumb is 25 conversions each • After a test has enough conversions, we analyze conversions rates to see if there is a significant improvement and if so, we declare the test page as the winner.
  • 47. #thinkppc Special Offer! Would you like a discount to Hero Conf Conversion Summit? o Yes! o No Thanks
  • 49. #thinkppc Have more questions? Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc • Get a FREE Account Analysis from Hanapin Marketing (for accounts greater than $20K/mo in adspend): http://www.hanapinmarketing.com/account-analysis/ • Or Contact us Directly: • Webinar Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com

Editor's Notes