SlideShare a Scribd company logo
Boost Your Growth Engine with
Analytics*
@buyukgokcesu
BoostingConversion.com
BoostingConversion.com
Cemal Buyukgokcesu
Analytics and Conversion Consultant
analytics
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsstartup analytics
13%
11%
16%
60%
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
% of product pages viewed per device
There are known knowns; there are things we
know we know (FACTS)
We also know there are known unknowns; that
is to say we know there are some things we do
not know (QUESTIONS)
There are also unknown unknowns; the ones
we don't know we don't know (EXPLORATION)
What makes a good metric for a
startup?
Comparative
A good metric should allow you to experiment, learn
and iterate with it.
Understandable Ratio or rate Actionable
Before choosing the right metric for
you...
Qualitative vs Quantitative
Leading vs Lagging
Correlated vs Causal
Vanity vs Actionable
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
What metrics to track?
- Metrics are “Business Type” dependent
- Metrics are “Stage of your startup’s
growth” dependent
Source: http://leananalyticsbook.com/one-metric-that-matters/
Pirate metrics by Dave McClure
(venture capitalist)
Source: http://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/startup-metrics-for-pirates-long-version
Empathy:
Get inside your target
market’s head and be sure
you are solving a problem
people care about in a way
someone will pay for
Lean Analytics Stages
by Alistair Croll and Benjamin Yoskovitz
Product/Market Fit Question
“How would you feel if you could no longer use [your
product]?”
Measure results on a scale, and define the success
Eg. At least 40% of users should say “Very disappointed”
Example metrics to track:
- Daily/weekly active users
- Bounce rate
- Length of time it takes someone
to become inactive
- # of inactive users that are
reactivated when sent an email
- Features users engage and
spend time with
- Features users ignore
Stickiness comes from a good
product
- Don’t look for rapid growth
- Focus is around retention
and engagement metrics
- Segment metrics by cohort
A segment is a group
that shares some
common characteristics
eg.
Visitors using firefox
browser have
significantly fewer
engagement
Total Users Average
Churn Rate
January 1.000 24%
February 2.000 23%
March 3.000 23%
April 4.000 21%
May 5.000 18%
Average Churn Rate
of Cohort Users
18%
17%
16%
13%
8%
Cohort Analysis compares similar
groups over time
We are all
delusional
Virality: Focus on user
acquisition and growth
- but keep an eye on your
stickiness too
NPS = % Promoters - % Detractors
One question survey:
“How likely is it you would recommend my
product to a friend or colleague?”
Some examples of leading indicators
of engaged users
Facebook: User reaching 7 friends
within 10 days of signing up
Zynga: Day 1 retention - if someone
comes back a day after signing up for
a game
Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
Some examples of leading indicators
of engaged users
Dropbox: When users put at least one file in
one Dropbox folder on one device
Twitter: Following a certain number of people,
and a certain percentage of those people
following the user back
LinkedIn: User getting to X connections in Y
days
Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
Example metrics to track:
- Customer lifetime value
- Revenue per customer
- Click-through Rate
- Conversion rate
- Cart size
- Checkout abandonment rate
- Customer acquisition cost
- Months to customer breakeven
- Cancellation rate
Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/best-web-metrics-kpis-small-medium-large-business/
Cancellation rate
=
Percentage number of customers
who cancel in any given month
compared to total (paying)
customers
# months = 1 / cancellation rate
LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate
Customer lifetime value (LTV)
=
Monthly revenue
x
# months in lifetime
If user’s monthly revenue €20 a month
and cancellation rate is 10% a month
LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate
LTV = €20 / 10% = €200
Remember:
Short term cancellation rates are much higher than long term
Time to customer breakeven:
How long a customer takes to pay
you back?
$27 Customer lifetime value
11 Months from activation to departure
$2.45 Average revenue per customer per month
$14 Cost to acquire a customer
5.7 Months to customer breakeven
Find the
One Metric That
Matters
Pick a single metric
that’s incredibly
important for the
step you’re currently
working through in
your startup
Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/lean-analytics-cycle-metrics-hypothesis-experiment-act/
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
Purpose of analytics
To find your way to the right product and market before the money
runs out
A good metric
A good metric is comparative, understandable, ratio or rate,
actionable
Segments, cohorts, tests
Use segments, analyze cohorts, make testing part of your DNA
Before deciding on metrics to track
Confirm your “Business Type” and “Stage of your startup’s growth”
Focus on one metric
Find your One Metric That Matters
Thanks!
@buyukgokcesu
BoostingConversion.com
BoostingConversion.com
Cemal Buyukgokcesu
Analytics and Conversion Consultant

More Related Content

PDF
Introduction to Google Analytics
PPT
Google Analytics vs WebTrends
PPTX
An introduction to google analytics for educational marketers
PDF
The basics (and best bits) of Google Analytics - 2017 Edition
PPTX
Introduction to Google Analytics
PPTX
Beginners discussion to - Google Analytics
PPTX
2015 google analytics basics
PPTX
Introduction to Google Analytics - MCN SIG Data & Insights
Introduction to Google Analytics
Google Analytics vs WebTrends
An introduction to google analytics for educational marketers
The basics (and best bits) of Google Analytics - 2017 Edition
Introduction to Google Analytics
Beginners discussion to - Google Analytics
2015 google analytics basics
Introduction to Google Analytics - MCN SIG Data & Insights

What's hot (20)

PPTX
Google Analytics ppt
PPTX
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement Communities
PPTX
Google Analytics: The Basics
PPTX
Introduction to Google Analytics
PDF
Introduction to Google Analytics
PDF
Introduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdf
PPTX
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
PPTX
Metrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS company
PPT
An introduction to Google Analytics
PDF
Google Analytics
PDF
Measuring What Matters with Google Analytics
PPTX
GOOGLE ANALYTICS
PDF
Google Analytics for Beginners - Training
PPTX
Introduction to Google Analytics
PDF
Google Analytics Class One
DOCX
Intent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager
PPTX
Google Analytics
PDF
Google analytics glossary
PPTX
Web Analytics : A Detailed Study
PPTX
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Google Analytics ppt
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement Communities
Google Analytics: The Basics
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdf
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
Metrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS company
An introduction to Google Analytics
Google Analytics
Measuring What Matters with Google Analytics
GOOGLE ANALYTICS
Google Analytics for Beginners - Training
Introduction to Google Analytics
Google Analytics Class One
Intent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager
Google Analytics
Google analytics glossary
Web Analytics : A Detailed Study
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Ad

Viewers also liked (20)

PPTX
Dharapaper6
PPSX
Room 3 investigates
PPSX
Digital Design Presentation
PPT
Kayleigh
PPT
PPTX
Dhara paper 3
PPTX
Our Poetry
PPT
Capital mkt (2)
PPTX
Time Management
PPS
Learn Through Play
PPTX
18.301.trivedi.pooja
PDF
Search marketing, Find the good media mix
PDF
101 google auction system
PPTX
บัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงิน
PPT
Networlding Sara Knowles
PDF
Spa em casa
PDF
Measuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App Analytics
PPT
Translation
PPTX
Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...
PDF
Open labs presented at FSK12
Dharapaper6
Room 3 investigates
Digital Design Presentation
Kayleigh
Dhara paper 3
Our Poetry
Capital mkt (2)
Time Management
Learn Through Play
18.301.trivedi.pooja
Search marketing, Find the good media mix
101 google auction system
บัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงิน
Networlding Sara Knowles
Spa em casa
Measuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App Analytics
Translation
Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...
Open labs presented at FSK12
Ad

Similar to Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics (20)

PDF
Startup Metrics
PDF
Startup analytics
PDF
Meaningful Metrics for Startups
PDF
online startups metrics
PPTX
Innovation accounting and key metrics for startups
PDF
Building Analytics for Growth
PDF
Startupmetrics4pirates dave mcclure
PDF
Metrics that Matter
PDF
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Nov 2015, Platzi)
PPT
Metrics and Analytics, Guest Lecture, UCLA
PDF
Hotspot ALPHA Camp_Setting Course with Metrics
PDF
Startup Metrics for Pirates (FounderX, May 2016)
PPT
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Chicago, Aug 2010)
PPTX
Digital Marketing: Key Metrics with Jill Quick & Dave Chaffey
PPT
Startup Metrics 4 Pirates (London, March 2011)
PPT
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Brazil, Nov 2011)
PPT
DO Marketing (It's Not Evil)
PPT
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Twiistup, Jan 2010)
PDF
Croll lean analytics workshop (3h) - lean ux nyc april 2014
PDF
Melbourne Business School - mba talk october 14 - croll - 40m - lean analytics
Startup Metrics
Startup analytics
Meaningful Metrics for Startups
online startups metrics
Innovation accounting and key metrics for startups
Building Analytics for Growth
Startupmetrics4pirates dave mcclure
Metrics that Matter
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Nov 2015, Platzi)
Metrics and Analytics, Guest Lecture, UCLA
Hotspot ALPHA Camp_Setting Course with Metrics
Startup Metrics for Pirates (FounderX, May 2016)
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Chicago, Aug 2010)
Digital Marketing: Key Metrics with Jill Quick & Dave Chaffey
Startup Metrics 4 Pirates (London, March 2011)
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Brazil, Nov 2011)
DO Marketing (It's Not Evil)
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Twiistup, Jan 2010)
Croll lean analytics workshop (3h) - lean ux nyc april 2014
Melbourne Business School - mba talk october 14 - croll - 40m - lean analytics

More from Cemal Buyukgokcesu (9)

PDF
Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015
PDF
Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...
PDF
Digital Talks Spring'15 - User Experience
PDF
Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...
PDF
Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...
PDF
Develop and Grow your Audience with Google Analytics
PDF
Understand your multi-screen users with Google Analytics
PDF
Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)
PDF
Know and Delight Your Users: UX Analytics
Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015
Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...
Digital Talks Spring'15 - User Experience
Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...
Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...
Develop and Grow your Audience with Google Analytics
Understand your multi-screen users with Google Analytics
Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)
Know and Delight Your Users: UX Analytics

Recently uploaded (20)

PPTX
Project and change Managment: short video sequences for IBA
PPTX
BIOLOGY TISSUE PPT CLASS 9 PROJECT PUBLIC
PPTX
Relationship Management Presentation In Banking.pptx
PDF
Tunisia's Founding Father(s) Pitch-Deck 2022.pdf
PPTX
_ISO_Presentation_ISO 9001 and 45001.pptx
PPTX
Role and Responsibilities of Bangladesh Coast Guard Base, Mongla Challenges
PPTX
AcademyNaturalLanguageProcessing-EN-ILT-M02-Introduction.pptx
PPTX
Introduction-to-Food-Packaging-and-packaging -materials.pptx
PDF
Nykaa-Strategy-Case-Fixing-Retention-UX-and-D2C-Engagement (1).pdf
PPT
First Aid Training Presentation Slides.ppt
PPTX
The spiral of silence is a theory in communication and political science that...
PPTX
An Unlikely Response 08 10 2025.pptx
PPTX
Presentation for DGJV QMS (PQP)_12.03.2025.pptx
DOCX
ENGLISH PROJECT FOR BINOD BIHARI MAHTO KOYLANCHAL UNIVERSITY
DOC
学位双硕士UTAS毕业证,墨尔本理工学院毕业证留学硕士毕业证
DOCX
"Project Management: Ultimate Guide to Tools, Techniques, and Strategies (2025)"
PDF
natwest.pdf company description and business model
PPTX
S. Anis Al Habsyi & Nada Shobah - Klasifikasi Hambatan Depresi.pptx
PPTX
Self management and self evaluation presentation
PPTX
The Effect of Human Resource Management Practice on Organizational Performanc...
Project and change Managment: short video sequences for IBA
BIOLOGY TISSUE PPT CLASS 9 PROJECT PUBLIC
Relationship Management Presentation In Banking.pptx
Tunisia's Founding Father(s) Pitch-Deck 2022.pdf
_ISO_Presentation_ISO 9001 and 45001.pptx
Role and Responsibilities of Bangladesh Coast Guard Base, Mongla Challenges
AcademyNaturalLanguageProcessing-EN-ILT-M02-Introduction.pptx
Introduction-to-Food-Packaging-and-packaging -materials.pptx
Nykaa-Strategy-Case-Fixing-Retention-UX-and-D2C-Engagement (1).pdf
First Aid Training Presentation Slides.ppt
The spiral of silence is a theory in communication and political science that...
An Unlikely Response 08 10 2025.pptx
Presentation for DGJV QMS (PQP)_12.03.2025.pptx
ENGLISH PROJECT FOR BINOD BIHARI MAHTO KOYLANCHAL UNIVERSITY
学位双硕士UTAS毕业证,墨尔本理工学院毕业证留学硕士毕业证
"Project Management: Ultimate Guide to Tools, Techniques, and Strategies (2025)"
natwest.pdf company description and business model
S. Anis Al Habsyi & Nada Shobah - Klasifikasi Hambatan Depresi.pptx
Self management and self evaluation presentation
The Effect of Human Resource Management Practice on Organizational Performanc...

Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics

  • 1. Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics* @buyukgokcesu BoostingConversion.com BoostingConversion.com Cemal Buyukgokcesu Analytics and Conversion Consultant
  • 3. analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
  • 6. 13% 11% 16% 60% Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking % of product pages viewed per device
  • 7. There are known knowns; there are things we know we know (FACTS) We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know (QUESTIONS) There are also unknown unknowns; the ones we don't know we don't know (EXPLORATION)
  • 8. What makes a good metric for a startup? Comparative A good metric should allow you to experiment, learn and iterate with it. Understandable Ratio or rate Actionable
  • 9. Before choosing the right metric for you... Qualitative vs Quantitative Leading vs Lagging Correlated vs Causal Vanity vs Actionable
  • 12. What metrics to track? - Metrics are “Business Type” dependent - Metrics are “Stage of your startup’s growth” dependent Source: http://leananalyticsbook.com/one-metric-that-matters/
  • 13. Pirate metrics by Dave McClure (venture capitalist) Source: http://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/startup-metrics-for-pirates-long-version
  • 14. Empathy: Get inside your target market’s head and be sure you are solving a problem people care about in a way someone will pay for Lean Analytics Stages by Alistair Croll and Benjamin Yoskovitz
  • 15. Product/Market Fit Question “How would you feel if you could no longer use [your product]?” Measure results on a scale, and define the success Eg. At least 40% of users should say “Very disappointed”
  • 16. Example metrics to track: - Daily/weekly active users - Bounce rate - Length of time it takes someone to become inactive - # of inactive users that are reactivated when sent an email - Features users engage and spend time with - Features users ignore Stickiness comes from a good product - Don’t look for rapid growth - Focus is around retention and engagement metrics - Segment metrics by cohort
  • 17. A segment is a group that shares some common characteristics eg. Visitors using firefox browser have significantly fewer engagement
  • 18. Total Users Average Churn Rate January 1.000 24% February 2.000 23% March 3.000 23% April 4.000 21% May 5.000 18% Average Churn Rate of Cohort Users 18% 17% 16% 13% 8% Cohort Analysis compares similar groups over time
  • 19. We are all delusional Virality: Focus on user acquisition and growth - but keep an eye on your stickiness too
  • 20. NPS = % Promoters - % Detractors One question survey: “How likely is it you would recommend my product to a friend or colleague?”
  • 21. Some examples of leading indicators of engaged users Facebook: User reaching 7 friends within 10 days of signing up Zynga: Day 1 retention - if someone comes back a day after signing up for a game Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
  • 22. Some examples of leading indicators of engaged users Dropbox: When users put at least one file in one Dropbox folder on one device Twitter: Following a certain number of people, and a certain percentage of those people following the user back LinkedIn: User getting to X connections in Y days Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
  • 23. Example metrics to track: - Customer lifetime value - Revenue per customer - Click-through Rate - Conversion rate - Cart size - Checkout abandonment rate - Customer acquisition cost - Months to customer breakeven - Cancellation rate
  • 25. Cancellation rate = Percentage number of customers who cancel in any given month compared to total (paying) customers
  • 26. # months = 1 / cancellation rate LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate Customer lifetime value (LTV) = Monthly revenue x # months in lifetime
  • 27. If user’s monthly revenue €20 a month and cancellation rate is 10% a month LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate LTV = €20 / 10% = €200 Remember: Short term cancellation rates are much higher than long term
  • 28. Time to customer breakeven: How long a customer takes to pay you back? $27 Customer lifetime value 11 Months from activation to departure $2.45 Average revenue per customer per month $14 Cost to acquire a customer 5.7 Months to customer breakeven
  • 29. Find the One Metric That Matters Pick a single metric that’s incredibly important for the step you’re currently working through in your startup Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/lean-analytics-cycle-metrics-hypothesis-experiment-act/
  • 32. Purpose of analytics To find your way to the right product and market before the money runs out A good metric A good metric is comparative, understandable, ratio or rate, actionable Segments, cohorts, tests Use segments, analyze cohorts, make testing part of your DNA Before deciding on metrics to track Confirm your “Business Type” and “Stage of your startup’s growth” Focus on one metric Find your One Metric That Matters